Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-07-18 - 10:19 a.m.

I'm not even at work today...

...and it seems that's all I can think about.

Feh.

The client I work for is going to cut back my hours; I know it. And that sucks. Fucking telecom industry. I know that the company "will find other ways to leverage [my] talents" to fill in those hours, but I think that will drive me nuts. They probably will end up either having me work in the Events department (and I hate doing events--see almost any entry regarding meeting planning), or they'll float me between all of the other clients, which means I'll be working for someone different every day, which in turn means I'll probably go postal within a month.

The really obnoxious thing about all of this? Ebie, Ebie's boss (one of the owners and one of the three women directly responsible for my fate), and at least two of the other A.C.'s all readily admit that I am probably the best A.C. the company has. (And they volunteer this praise; it's not like I was fishing for it.) I know, that sounds incredibly conceited. But, it's kind of true. For goodness sake, all three of the owners come to me whenever they need something done or have a computer/web related question! I have a meeting next Thursday where we're supposed to discuss my current duties. I think I'm going to have to kind of go in there with a "put up or shut up" attitude. I feel stagnated. They need to do something to make me happy. Ideally, the client will cut me back to 75% or 80% time, and then for that leftover 20%-25% of the time, they can put me doing PC and web support so our IS guy can focus on programming. (Hell, I'm practically already doing that anyway, this would just make it official.)

Ugh.

Also, since I am a big nerd, I still checked my work email this morning. (Do they have a patch for that? Seriously!) Apparently Ebie is taking today off, too. She sent an email to Martine and I at around 8:00 last night, informing us of this. Sigh. I thought that only one of us was allowed to be on vacation at a time. Ebie approved my comp day almost a week ago, but I'll bet almost anything that she forgot I wasn't going to be in the office today. Erg. I guess I'm also annoyed because everyone keeps asking me, "So, are you going anywhere fun for vacation this summer?" The answer: no. Ebie will be gone almost the entire month of August, which is when I would like to go on vacation, but I can't go when she's gone. So bleah.

Okay. Now it's time to finish getting ready and head over to Nordstrom. No more thinking about work!

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!