Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-08-13 - 6:53 p.m.

"Here I Come To Save The Day!"

Dude. I seriously think I should start wearing a cape to work. Heh. I probably get paid better than most superheroes, though. (I know it's hard to believe, but really. Haven't you ever noticed that superheroes always tend to be independently wealthy? There's a reason for that. Saving the day doesn't pay jack.) On the downside, however, I don't have any cool deathray eye beams, and my arch-nemesis (the nefarious Ego Boy!) is really lame.

I'm glad I have a sense of humor, anyway.

Ahem. Don't mind me.

Following is a list of words, phrases, and random British spellings that when said or written in my presence, may cause objects on my desk to start flying:

  • value add. (Especially when preceded by the word real, as in, "real value add." I don't care if you tell me that something is "a real value add." Tell my why or how it's "a real value add," and then maybe I will bring myself to care.)
  • envisage. (I know that it's a real word, but I don't like it. I see the "visage" part and always think "a person's face." Use "envision" instead.)
  • programme. (I can handle "theatre." "Colour" has a nice ring to it. I even prefer "grey." But I just want to scream whenever I see that "-me" tacked to the end of "program.")
  • gap analysis. (People always talk about needing to do a "gap analysis," but I don't think I've ever actually seen one done. Therefore, shut up.)
  • S.W.OT. (I'll "swat" you...okay, now I freely admit that I'm just being a grouch.)

I've got weekend plans, yay. Weekend plans of my own, which do not involve the family of my roommates. Double yay. Weekend plans of my own, which do not involve the family of my roommates and will necessitate me not coming home on Saturday night. Triple yay. Huzzah.

(See, this is what happens when I think to myself, "You need to get out more." I get ridiculously excited when the opportunity presents itself.)

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!