Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-08-26 - 6:54 p.m.

Good Old Saint-Ex

I just re-read The Little Prince. (On a lark, I went looking for something I can read to Sam's daughter the next time I go over there.) I had forgotten how freakin' sad that story is. Of course, part of that may be that I think that this might have been the first time that I've ever read it all the way through in English.

That's right--the first time I read it (8 or 9 years ago--my God, that makes me feel old!), it was in the original French. Now I'd probably only be able to understand about a third of the French without help.

On ne voit bien qu'avec le coeur, l'essentiel est invisible pour les yeux. (Or something to that effect.)

Makes me want to have a little fox of my own to tame. *sniff*

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!