Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-12-15 - 7:21 p.m.

'Tis the Season...For Moving

Yes, I am still alive.

(That's always a great way to start an entry, isn't it?)

In the past 3 weeks, I have packed up all of my belongings, moved, got cable modem service installed, hooked up a phone line, unpacked, and started and finished all of my Christmas shopping. Without taking any time off from work.

I'm pretty damn impressed with myself.

And I love my new apartment. Cuz it's MINE.

I am NOT, however, feeling the spirit of the season. I'm in denial. Christmas is not in 10 days. The calendar is lying.

Normally, I finish my shopping by the end of the first week of December. This year, I didn't want to buy anything until after I was finished moving. So, I finished moving, and went, "Oh shit, Christmas is in two weeks." Thus commenced much online shopping and driving around looking for parking spaces at the mall. But I'm done. According to the package tracking thingie on UPS's web site, I should get one package on Thursday, and another on Friday. (Everything else I either bought in person or have already received.) Good thing, because I want to leave on Sunday. (I'm taking two weeks off surrounding Christmas. I haven't had a vacation that long since...jeez, probably the summer before my junior year of college. Never mind the fact that I'll probably do some work while I'm technically on vacation.)

I'm also not in the holiday mood because, once again, I had to miss the company holiday luncheon. (They REALLY need to give more warning for those things. I had a dentist appointment.) And before, Selena would always go nuts with the Christmas decorations. Not this year, though, since (A) I don't live there anymore, and (B) Holden and Selena are moving this weekend, so they didn't bother to put up any decorations this year.

Speaking of moving...Sis moves into an apartment in Las Vegas tomorrow. I'm not sure if I've written about my sister going nuts, quitting her job, selling her condo, and deciding to move out to the desert, so if I haven't...well, there you have it.

I feel like I should write something warm and fuzzy about all of the people who helped me move, but honestly, I just don't have the energy at the moment. They all kick major ass--that's the honest truth, and I can't really elaborate much more than that at this point. Huzzah for Clan Seaborne.

[Something that's been rolling around in my head for a while now, that finally dawned on me when I was in Utah for Thanksgiving. I am a total Seaborne. My sister is a complete Auston. This explains quite a lot about our family dynamics, and why I always got on better with our dad than Sis did. Both sides of the family are nuts, but in completely different ways. Fun.]

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!