Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-02-22 - 1:59 a.m.

I'm sorry, did I screw up your self-righteous rant with a bit of the truth?

Feh. Our two new housemates (Bastian and Natalia) left this evening for a week-long ski trip, and I guess they were gonna give Bastian's sister his key so that she could come in and feed their fish and turtles while they were gone. Originally, Selena was going to do it, but one of the turtles is sick, and so Bastian wanted someone who actually had experience dealing with sick animals to take care of them while they were gone.

Fine, right? Except Holden hit the roof. He went on this big rant about how just because they live in his house, he shouldn't have to be forced to trust everyone that Bastian and Natalia trusts, and that it was so inconsiderate for them not to ask us if it was okay first, blah blah blah. And yes, Holden does have a point, but it's Bastian's sister, for crying out loud. We've all met her, and I don't think she's going to rob us blind.

So after they left, Holden sat there bitching and moaning about it, getting all frothed up, trying to get me to join him in his rant, when finally I couldn't take it anymore. So I said:

"Well, it's kind of like that time a couple of weeks after I had first moved in with Selena, and you guys went camping, and you told me that you had given [Holden's sister] a key so that she could come over and feed the dog. You didn't ask me if that was okay--you just told me that was what was happening."

Selena was immediately all, "Ooh, I had forgotten about that. I guess we did do the same thing." Holden, meanwhile, was opening and closing his mouth furiously, trying to come up with a retort. The best he could come up with was that since the majority of the furniture in the main (non-bedroom) part of the house belongs to Holden and Selena, that they have more rights than Bastian or Natalia or me.

Fuck that shit. Selena's name isn't even on the freaking lease. Mine is. (And every time I think about how stupid I was to sign the lease with Holden, it just pisses me off more.) They would not be able to live in this house without me and my good credit rating, so gargh.

And don't get me started about the fact that most of the non-bedroom furniture belongs to Holden and Selena. That's because everything in the house has to be exactly to Selena's taste. Bastian and Natalia have a couch, which is now in the once-empty living room. But Selena didn't like the upholstery on the couch, so she picked out an expensive (and in my opinion, fugly) slipcover and told them that they would have to pay for half of it. That is ballsy. I honestly can't believe that they agreed to it.

Gah.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!