Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-03-01 - 12:27 p.m.

Ve Vant To Suck Your Blood. And Stuff.

The good people from the American Red Cross called me at work yesterday, begging me to come in and donate because they currently only have a one-day supply of AB-positive. I tell them that I am scheduled to donate with a company blood drive on March 11. They reiterate that they only have a one-day supply, and that they really need me to come in sooner. I say, "Okay, I can come in tomorrow (Saturday)." Red Cross Lady: "Oooh, we don't have any appointments left on Saturday." I say Sunday then. "Ooh, yeah, we're not open on Sunday."

Obviously they don't need my blood that badly then. I mean, why call people and tell them that you need to donate right away, and then not have any open times for them to come in? Ugh.

My current mission is to find a Good Luck Care Bear for Liana's birthday. A few months ago, we were at the mall, and we saw a bunch of Care Bears. She went all nostalgic about 1980's toys, and how they were making a comeback. Anyway, her birthday is St. Patrick's Day, and since Good Luck Bear is green and has the shamrock and everything, it seemed appropriate. Except whenever I go looking, they never have the Good Luck Bear, just the others. Kind of a bummer.

I was very productive this morning, and did a ton of filing and shredding. While I was doing it, I found a letter that American Airlines sent me a couple of weeks ago. I had assumed it was another credit card offer, but it turns out it was a written apology because my flight out of Dallas in January was delayed due to snow. (We sat on the runway waiting to be de-iced for 2 hours.) They also gave me 2000 bonus frequent flyer miles. Cool. I mean, it's not like I pitched a fit or complained really loudly or anything. Bad weather happens--it's not like they can control that. If I was annoyed at anyone, I was annoyed at myself, because I had thought that I was being so clever, blooking my layover in Dallas, because they very rarely get snow. D'oh. Obviously I jinxed myself. Anyway, good for American Airlines. And extra miles--nice.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!