Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-05-02 - 6:04 p.m.

It must have been the smile.

Dear reader, forgive me, because I am going to talk about fashion for a couple of minutes here.

Today I had one of those mornings where it seemed like nothing looked good on me. I finally went out in the sixth outfit I put together this morning, and I only chose that one because I realized if I stood there staring into my closet for much longer, I was going to be late for school. I ended up looking sort of like Andrea from Daria, if you can imagine Andrea with long blonde hair and without the scary goth makeup. Oh yeah, and as a real person instead of a cartoon.

I was wearing strappy shoes with heels. Well. I should have known better than that. I do know better than that, I guess I just temporarily forgot. Strappy heels just do not work when you have to walk 3 miles round trip to school. It was agony. On the way home, I looked down at my feet, and I saw that they were actually bleeding where the straps were digging in. (Yeah. All of the hills in my neighborhood made it even suckier.) So there I was, hobbling along, feeling ugly and sweaty and ridiculous in my fancy shoes, when I see this guy standing in the middle of the sidewalk up ahead, gesturing emphatically. A few steps closer, and I see that he's actually conversing in sign language with another guy, who was sitting on an apartment stoop. I veered over to the left side of the sidewalk, because I didn't want to interrupt their conversation. (I feel bad enough walking between two people who are conversing anyway; I'd feel really bad walking through between two people who actually have to see each other in order to talk.) As I passed, the guy on the sidewalk smiled at me. I smiled back.

"Hi," he said, out loud.

"Hi," I replied.

"You look nice today," he said.

What the hell? I thought. I was figuring that by that time, I looked like complete crap, from the top of my messy ponytail, to the bottoms of my bleeding feet.

"Thank you," I replied, smiling again. Then I turned the corner onto my street, stopped, and pulled off my shoes. I walked the last half-block to my apartment barefoot, and it felt wonderful.

But that guy said I looked nice today. It must have been because I smiled at him. People always look better when they smile.

-Diana, signing off.

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!