Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-09-05 - 5:07 p.m.

I am such a spaz.

I just picked up an open bag of sunflower seeds wrong-side-up and dumped a bunch of them into my lap.

Part of that was surprise. Mil just showed up on my buddy list for the first time since...March? But then he signed off really quickly, so I didn't get a chance to IM him. I don't know if I even would have. But, well, I guess I can take that as confimation that he's still alive.

I made a bunch of phone calls at work today. Ye gods. I was trying to leave a voicemail for one of our engineers in Korea. It was like 10:00 am here, which means that it was about 2:00 am there. I did not expect to catch a real person. Who the hell is still in the office at two o'clock in the morning?

Well, apparently someone in Korea was still in the office at 2:00 am. Which was a problem, because I don't speak Korean. And the guy who answered the phone didn't really speak English. He was trying very hard, I'll give him that, but it just was not working. I don't have any idea who this person was, either. I'd called this number before, and was connected to the person I was looking for without having to go through a switchboard. Like I said, I was expecting voicemail. Yeeeesh. I couldn't make the guy who answered the phone understand me when I asked to be put into voicemail, and when I gave up on that,I couldn't make him understand that I would just send the engineer an email instead. I was probably on the phone for 15 minutes, and it was horrible. The guy on the other end was really frustrated, but I didn't want to be rude and just hang up on him. Every time I started to say goodbye, he would say, "You want message?" But the guy didn't know enough English to take the message. Bleah.

I also spoke to "my" engineer today. My God, I am such a dweeb.

I think yesterday's entry jinxed my office. Last night, someone closed the door to the office in our suite which has all of the servers in it, and the door locked behind them. None of our keys worked in this door. The poor girl who actually has to work out of that office was locked out for almost 4 hours this morning. How sad is that? I'll have to ask her if she managed to get any work done in that time.

My roommate's dog's new favorite place to hang out is on the floor right next to my bed. It was cute at first, but now I just keep tripping over him, and it's getting annoying. Animals love me. The feeling is not always mutual.

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!