Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-09-17 - 4:15 p.m.

Steer By Gesturing Emphatically

Ugh.

Too many people are currently trying to act parental towards me. None of these people are related to me in any way, of course.

1) Last night, I went to a baseball game, and so it was after 11:00 when I got home. Everyone else in the house was already in bed. This afternoon, when I got home from work, Holden asks me, "So, did you have fun last night?" I replied that yes, I had a good time, and that it had been a close game. He replies, "Where were you?" Um...I had told him over the weekend that I was going to the game. We had a whole conversation about it. I remember specifically, because he mentioned that one of our neighbors was also going to be at that game. But Holden's memory is crap. Fine. Then, just now, Selena beeped Holden on her radio (they both have those Nextel radio-phone things for work) to tell him that she was on her way home. Holden says to her, "So it turns out Diana was at a baseball game last night." Keep in mind that I'm standing right there in the kitchen, so I can hear everything both of them are saying. Selena responds kind of snottily, "Well, I wish she had told us that!"

First of all: I did tell Holden where I was going.

Second of all: It's not even really any of their damn business! Do I have to account for all of my time to them now? I mean, obviously, if I was going to be gone for a week or something (or even overnight), I would let them know as a courtesy. But Jesus, what if I had had a date or something? Do I have a curfew now?

2) Bank of America has emailed me twice now to ask me why I haven't been using their online banking recently. All I ever did before was check my balance and see what checks had cleared, and now that I'm a grown-up and actually have a cushion in my checking account, I'm not so obsessive about checking my balances. It's weird that they track how often I log in.

~~~

I have been back from my vacation for two and a half weeks, and I'm already feeling burned out again. Not so good. M'eh. Plus, River has now officially announced that she's moving at the end of the month, so in a couple of weeks, probably the best friend I have at work will be leaving. Boo.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!