Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-03-04 - 17:32:46

Plummeting

So this is Diana, screwed to the wall.

Or rather, not screwed; falling. Completely ungrounded.

I am graduating in three and a half months. I have no freaking clue what I am going to do after that. I'd planned to move back to the Bay Area. Well. That was assuming I had a roommate (JB). But now I won't have a roommate, I will have no place to live, and I have even less of a clue than I did before. Even studio apartments in the Bay Area run over $1000 a month. That's pretty steep to take on by myself. But I don't know anyone else up there with whom I could live. After four years of crummy roommates in college, I'm loath to pick a new roommate out of a newspaper ad. I kind of like the idea of living on my own; I just don't think I'll be able to afford it if I want to live in the Bay Area. So I can live somewhere else, right? But where? There's no way in hell I'm staying in Los Angeles. Shit. The only place I feel like I have ties to, and I probably can't even live there.

JB has good reasons for not wanting to move. Her current place is close to the bus line, easy access to work and school for her. She tells me not to take it personally. I know (I think) that she doesn't intend it to be a snub. But still...I'm not taking this personally...but I am. Maybe I'm over-sensitive because I've been screwed over by people who were supposed to live with me before. At least JB gave me fair warning. I'm free-falling at the moment, but at least I have a little bit of time to figure out what I'm going to do before I crash.

an hour and a half later:

Okay. Breathe. I talked to Mom, and she's promised not to move out of the Bay Area until I'm settled, so that gives me some more time to play with.

Ever feel like life would be a hell of a lot easier if you didn't have to deal with all of the details that went along with living it?

(And if you weren't prone to over-reaction?)

Ugh.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!