Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-04-21 - 10:03 p.m.

Oh, Bliss.

I just peeked in at my work email for the first time since Wednesday afternoon. Ugh. Tomorrow morning is going to be fun. It looks like the IS guy did not activate my vacation message like I asked him to, so I had a bunch of messages that basically said, "Hey, where the hell did Diana go?" It was a lot easier when we had the power to enable and disable vacation messages and email forwarding on our own, without going through the IS guy. On the upside, I didn't have any voicemail, so that's one less thing to worry about.

I left Wednesday night for Las Vegas for my cousin's wedding. The flight out was a nightmare. The first airplane had already started to taxi when they realized there was a problem with it, so they had to go back to the gate and kick everyone off, then send us to three different gates over the course of the next two and a half hours before they finally found a plane we could leave on. I'm pretty sure we ended up on the same plane that they kicked us off originally. It was almost 4:00 am by the time I got to my mom's house.

Thursday and Friday it rained on and off, which it almost never does out there. (Lake Powell is currently 94 feet below its high water mark. When they say drought, they mean drought.) The rain stopped just in time for the 7:00 pm start time for the garden wedding on Friday, but it was really, really cold. But I am very proud of myself for managing to survive the entire night in spiky, strappy heels. Even the bride ended up eventually ditching her shoes.

Saturday and Sunday were gorgeous. We did the whole Easter picnic thing, I got to go rock climbing, and I also rode on an ATV. My left arm is completely stiff from the death grip I was using while on the ATV, but still.

Funny moment: at the wedding, my cousin's (the bride's sister) 7-year-old daughter asked the groom why they weren't going to be at the family picnic the next day--what was going to be so fun about the honeymoon that would be better than a family picnic? Heh. Watching the groom squirm on that one was pretty funny.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!