Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-05-19 - 10:15 p.m.

Los Angeles' parking meters take dimes!

I got a new cell phone today. Whee. It's the same model as the one I had before, and I got to keep the same phone number and everything. Really, what happened was that after a bunch of bitching on my part, Cingular replaced my phone, because I had the handset insurance. The guy in the store today said that he'd never seen one do what my old one had done. Weird.

The store I had to go to was over in Santa Monica, too far away to walk. (I walked to the Cingular store in Westwood last week, and they were absolutely no help at all; apparently, I had to go to one of their corporate stores.) So I had to drive and try to find parking on Wilshire. Ha. I found a meter about a block away from the store on some side street, and to my complete delight, the meter took dimes! (I have to save my quarters for laundry, don't you know.) 50 cents for a full hour! Woohoo! (On campus, 50 cents only gets you 15 minutes from the meters, and the meters only take quarters.) So I plopped my five dimes into the meter and went on my merry way.

I didn't get a warm fuzzy when I walked into the place; it seemed like most of the customers were not getting the help they needed. (Most of them were like me, making insurance claims.) After waiting for over a half hour for them to call my name (and knowing that if I left to go plug the parking meter, they'd call my name and I'd have to put my name on the list all over again), they finally got to me. Wonder of wonders, my claim had already gone through. I guess it's a good thing I procrastinated a little but between filing my claim and going to the store, eh? Five or 10 minutes later, I walked out with a new, functioning phone and a free extra battery. Even cooler, I found that all of the phone numbers I'd saved into the old phone transferred over to the new phone. The chick at the Westwood store was wrong; it wasn't a problem with the SIM card, it was a problem with the phone itself. So there, beeyatch!

I still had eight minutes on the parking meter when I got back to my car. Good timing, eh?

And yes, I realize that no one but me probably gives a damn about my cell phone victory, but it's the little things that make me happy, okay? Y'all should know by now that my life isn't all that interesting. K

-Diana, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!