Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-05-27 - 5:52 p.m.

An Excedrin Headache

Ugh. I was so looking forward to my weekend in San Diego, and it just sucked. I had a headache all weekend (still do, in fact)--one of those nasty headaches where the lights seem too bright and any any sort of movement makes me queasy. Bleh.

The weather in San Diego was absolutely gorgeous, but I didn't get to enjoy it because I was helping Sis move. Does it make me a bad person if I'm really, really annoyed at my sister for deliberately changing her moving date after I booked my plane ticket? I paid almost $250 to get down there for what I thought was going to be a mini-vacation, and instead I spent two and a half days lugging furniture around and building bookshelves. And of course, my sister didn't thank me for anything. It amazes me; I always think of saying "please" and "thank you" as being something that your parents teach you--or not--but obviously there's more to it than that. I'm kind of obsessive about "please" and "thank you." I once had a professor tell me, "I think you're the first person who has ever thanked me for handing them a test." My sister? Not so much. She acted like she was doing me a huge favor by dropping me off at the airport this afternoon after I spent the whole weekend helping her move. I thanked her for the ride, and she said, "Yeah, bye," and drove off almost before I had finished closing the door.

I have resolved to bring my lunch to work every day this week. No greasy take-out. I'm going to be too busy to go grab something, whatever I bring will undoubtedly be healthier than anything I would buy, and I'll probably save about $25. All good reasons, yes?

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!