Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-05-23 - 8:20 p.m.

The One Where I Bitch About Stuff (Gee, What Else Is New?)

It's funny how everyone else always think that they know what's best for me.

The people at work, who only have about 5% of an idea about how screwy my living situation is, all think that I should move out.

My roommate, who only knows that I come home exhausted and frustrated every night, thinks that I should look for another job.

Funny thing is, if I went out and found a better-paying job, I could afford to move out of here. So maybe everybody's right.

How not to build morale in the workplace, if you are the owner of a small business: Send an email to all employees, informing them that there will be an unscheduled emergency meeting next Tuesday. Say that everyone is expected to attend, no matter what. Do this, in full knowledge that Tuesday is the last day most of your employees will have to prepare for SUPERCOMM, because you are the boss and of course your employees should bow to your whims before actually doing their jobs for the clients.

Do I sound a little bit bitter? The prevailing rumor is that at this meeting, they are going to announce that no one will be getting any raises or promotions this year, due to the poor state the telecom industry is currently in. Fan-freaking-tastic. Of course, like two minutes after I hear the prevailing rumor, I get an email from Ebie asking me to fill out a self-evaluation, since my one-year review is coming up next month. Gives me a lot of incentive to jump right on that, eh?

It's funny how neither "meeting planning" nor "web site maintenance" appear in the official job description for my position, yet those two things are what I spend about 75% of my time doing. "Meeting planning" and "web site maintenance" both appear in the official job description of the next-higher position up from mine. And I've been doing both of those things since Day One with the company. So yes, if I don't get a raise or a promotion in June, I am going to be more than a little bit peeved. The state of the telecom industry may not be that great, but the company has still been able to increase their client fees (and we have more clients now than we did at this time last year).

Maybe it's just a rumor. I hope so, anyway.

I'm doing laundry at the moment, because I leave for San Diego tomorrow afternoon. Hopefully it will be a nice relaxing three-day weekend, and I won't stress myself out by thinking about all of the trade show crap I should be working on. Memorial Day is coming at something of an inconvenient time this year.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!