Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-07-04 - 10:43 p.m.

Happy Independence Day

Holden and Selena went to Great America today, and Nira has pulled another disappearing act, so I've had the place to myself. I ventured out once, for ice cream. Traffic was insane. That's what I get for living so close to the biggest park in the city. People wanting to go to the park are actually parking on our street. Heh. Glad I get to park in the garage.

I have Fourth of July weirdness.

July 4, 1992: My family had just moved back to California about two weeks earlier, and I spent the 4th wanting to die. I had a massive ear infection and fever that my parents didn't seem to believe me about until I practically passed out from the pain. I woke up with a cold shower and a trip to the emergency room. Lovely.

July 4, 1995: Ex and I were on the phone, because he was staying at his dad's house that weekend. I had been invited to go with him, but my parents absolutely balked at the idea of me spending a weekend at a boy's house, even if his parents were going to be there. So anyway, we were on the phone, both looking out our windows at the fireworks, and he told me that he loved me (for the first time), and that because of that, I would never be able to get rid of him. Well. Turns out Ex was something of a liar, but it's a memory I can smile about now, even if it is a sad smile.

July 4, 1996: My third day on the job at the video store. Not a good night.

July 4, 1997: Met up with a bunch of high school friends (two weeks or so post high-school graduation), and we parked up in the hills where we had a good view of the fireworks shows for about three different cities. I love fireworks. Bittersweet, though, because the place where stopped to look at the fireworks was right around the place where Ex and I used to park sometimes. Heh.

July 4, 1998: Party at JB's apartment with her then-roommate. In '98, JB lived in a city where it was still legal to set off your own fireworks, and so we did. It was pretty cool.

July 4, 1999: My parents were out of town. JB and I went to Wal-Mart, bought a barbeque, put the barbeque together, and proceeded to cook. JB's cousin (who was living with JB and her mom at the time) and his friend mocked us, and said that since we were girls, obviously we didn't know anything about barbeque. They chased us off to finish cooking. The burgers ended up undercooked. Later on, Ladybug joined us, and we watched The Wedding Singer on video, and all fell asleep on the sofabed.

July 4, 2000: JB, Mil and I went to the parade, and then later on, set off fireworks in front of Mil's house. (Mil lived in the firework-friendly city by then.) That was only a couple of weeks before all of the shit went down between Mil and JB.

July 4, 2001: You can read all about it here.

Even though I've been alone all day, I think it's still been a pretty good one. I watched the Macy's Fourth of July thing on TV. I read something in the Chronicle earlier this week which said that it was un-American to sit inside and watch TV on the Fourth of July. Bah. Although, I do admit that I had an inappropriate fit of giggles when host Rob Lowe introduced Britney Spears. (Guy who got in trouble 15 years ago or so for having sex with a minor introducing the former Jailbait Queen of America.....c'mon, someone else has to have thought that was kind of perverse.)

Happy Independence Day!

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!