Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-06-29 - 11:01 a.m.

Topic to Topic

Willow and I were supposed to go see a movie today, but she flaked on me. I am not all that surprised; I mean, when was the last time one of my friends did something other than flake on me? Willow at least has a decent excuse--they are moving her grandmother this weekend. Willow's Nana is funny (imagine an 80-year-old woman who wears very demure flower-print dresses, and is waaaaay too preoccupied with sex). Unfortunately, she's also getting quite senile. Willow thinks that the sex-preoccupation and the senility are linked. Maybe she's right. Is Tourette's syndrome a symptom of Alzheimer's? Not that Nana ever yells stuff out, it's just that sometimes, her comments are a bit...ill-timed.

JB and I may or may not go out tonight. JB may or may not be watching Swics' daughter tonight, but JB says that we can take the three-year-old with us. After the week I have had, I don't think that what I want to do tonight is the sort of thing for which I should bring a three-year-old with me. But since this is JB we're talking about--let's face it, she is going to cancel on me anyway.

My car is really quite filthy. Well, the outside it. The inside is quite neat. But I think that the last time anyone washed the outside of my car was back in February, when Holden took my car into the dealership because I needed a new alternator. And the really sad thing is, my car has gone much longer between baths than that.

July 19, 1999. I washed both my car (which was then my mom's car) and my dad's car (which was soon to be my mom's car). It two days after my dad died, and basically, I decided to go wash both cars because I really needed something to do, and I couldn't stand being in the house anymore. I remember that Aunt and Uncle Co came over while I was doing it, and they both just kind of looked at me funny. I don't see what's so weird about washing the cars, but okay. Anyway, my point is, that after that, Mom started driving Dad's car, so she didn't wash her car. Eight months later, I bought her car from her and took it to Los Angeles. Taking my car to do anything in L.A. was a production, so I never took it to a car wash. In June, when the school year ended, I drove back up here, and then I finally washed it. So that was almost an entire year between car washes for my poor little car.

I can't even find my resume at the moment. After I was hired for my current job, I got this computer, and since my old computer (good old Little Engine) only really had school stuff on it, I never bothered to transfer my files over. Oh well. At least I know that the other computer does still work. A couple of weeks ago, I was lying in bed, and I could not for the life of me remember the name of the Los Angeles suburb that creepy Vincent took me to. It was seriously preventing me from falling asleep, so I dug out Little Engine and booted it up. Since it had been about 11 months since I'd even touched Little Engine, I was kind of afraid that it wouldn't start up. It did, though, and I found the email where I told the whole sordid tale to Soshe. It was Van Nuys, by the way. The suburb, I mean. I knew that it had started with a V, and I kept thinking, "Ventura? No, that's not right..."

Anyway, my point being, my resume is on that computer somewhere, and I know that Little Engine is still a functioning piece of equipment, so I shouldn't have any more problems finding my resume once I actually take the steps to do so.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!