Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-07-23 - 6:42 p.m.

Sheer Blind Luck

I am having an exceptionally good day.

It started out with a long boring conference call, which, admittedly, isn't so fabulous. But about half an hour after I got of off that call, one of our marketing people called me. The conversation started out like this:

Me: Good morning, this is Diana.

Marketing Dude: Hi Diana, this is [Marketing Dude] from [Telecom Company].

Me: Hi, M.D. What can I help you with today?

M.D.: Actually, I wanted to ask you about something that has nothing to do with [the client I work for].

Me: Um, okay...

Okay. That's the kind of opening to a conversation, that, if you're me, never ends well. At that point, I was pretty much thinking, "Oh please God, don't let him be asking me out." (Because that's how conversations that start like that tend to progress, in my experience, and it's always awkward.)

(Wow, that paragraph makes me sound really conceited, doesn't it?)

Anyway, long story short, it turns out that M.D. is involved with a group that could be another potential client for my employer. So I got to go across town with one of the owners to make an impromptu presentation about the services our company offers. The really cool thing is that if this new group does end up contracting with our company, I get a pretty spiffy bonus at the end of the first year of the contract. It's the company's incentive plan to get their employees to try to drum up new business. Usually, it's the higher-up types that end up getting the bonuses, but since M.D. approached me, if this goes through, it will be me who gets the bonus.

Not that I am counting my chickens before they hatch, or anything.

Then, this afternoon, the owners approached me about doing some freelance logo work for them, since they know that I'm interested in graphic design. Sweet. Cheaper for the company than hiring a "real" designer, and it's experience for me. Yay.

At one point this afternoon, I had about four people crowded into my cubicle, all asking for my opinion on stuff. Not asking (or demanding) that I do something for them, but respectfully asking what I thought. Talk about feeling like the Belle of the Ball. I like that.

And then, I went and got a haircut. I realize that getting a haircut may not seem particularly noteworthy, but my split ends had been driving me insane, so this is a good thing.

What else? Oh yes. Last weekend, when Holden and Selena were in Las Vegas, Holden asked Selena to marry him. She said yes! They went and got the ring yesterday, and when I got home, Holden was like, "Selena has something she wants to show you." So I went downstairs, and she held out her hand. I was looking at her manicure, because she'd just had her nails done, and she had this nifty design airbrushed on. I started to comment, and Selena said, "Look higher." And then I saw the ring. Yay! Yay for them. Very cool.

I hope everyone else is having as lovely a day as I am.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!