Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-08-15 - 5:32 p.m.

Call Me A Hypocrite

So, I became a Diaryland Gold member over the weekend, and checking my stats trips me out. I can see what pages refer people to my diary, which is kind of strange. Someone went looking on Google for Diaryland users who visit the PPMB, which is...interesting, I guess. Hello, whoever you are. I feel sort of bad, because most of my references to the PPMB haven't exactly been flattering...but I only really was mentioning the board when it had erupted into flamewars. Hmm. In any case, I hope no one took any offense to anything I had to say.

The flamewars are over now, as far as I know. Everything's peachy.

But then you get into the whole cyber-stalking thing. I'm a gigantic hypocrite--because I do random Google searches on people when I'm bored. I just find it disturbing when people do one on me. Well, to be fair, the search wasn't on my name. Kind of strange that my site is the first one that comes up on that Google search, though. I'm pretty much a nobody at the PPMB. Heh. I also use a different alias there. Which gets back to me being a hypocrite, because on the message board a while back, I mentioned that people who posted under different names kind of got on my nerves, because they were deliberately trying to hide who they were (or just confuse people for fun). Well. Okay. I'm a hypocrite, but when I started this, my intention was to keep these two things (Diaryland and the message board) separate. I call myself one thing here, and something else there. But I don't post under different names in the same place, because I don't want to confuse people.

And yet, the fact that I keep rambling about this seems to indicate that I feel some measure of guilt...

But no one has emailed me about anything, so I'm going to assume that that means no one was offended.

Hell, my whiny little diary probably bored them and they didn't read very far, anyway.

The other thought that comes to me is that I wonder who was checking out my diary before I was able to track my stats.

I'm going to talk about something else now.

~~~

The JB situation is better. That's all I'm going to say at this point. Misunderstanding (I think) on my part combined with flakiness on hers led to me getting more pissed off than I should have. In fact, I think I'm going to go delete my last entry.

Remember: think, then speak (or write/type/whatever).

General apology to the universe: I'm sorry when I screw up, I try to be the best that I can be, but sometimes I just can't help being a bitch.

I'm working on it.

-Diana, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!