Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-08-24 - 5:05 p.m.

I am easily distracted by shiny objects.

Scatterbrained day today. In my ongoing effort to try to organize the mess that my predecessor left me, I spent a fair portion of the day creating binders with all of our policies and operating procedures. I kept getting distracted by other things while I was doing it (Eudora has the most annoying mail alert sound!), and so I would forget whether or not I had already sent the current document to print. D'oh. Oh well.

I had lunch at work today with River and Ruby. River just got back from a week's vacation, so we were filling her in on all of the stuff that's been going down at work. River and Ruby crack me up, though, especially when they're together. Heh. Today was a day for creating metaphors. River made a comment about how something was "Like asking for prime rib and being given Cheez-Its. Cheez-Its aren't even meat!" Then later on Ruby compared River to Joan of Arc, which River thought was pretty cool until she remembered that Joan of Arc was martyred. Heh. I guess she doesn't have any desire to be set on fire anytime soon. I guess I can understand that.

In other news...I think that when I got my car fixed earlier in the week, the mechanics put some sort of sign on my hood that says "CUT ME OFF AND THEN SLAM ON YOUR BRAKES." It is ridiculous. Driving is such fun.

I had an interesting conversation with JB last night. Basically, she thanked me for being her friend, and for putting up with her "fits," and then she told me that I was awesome. Seriously. She actually used the word "awesome" in reference to me. I was like, "Uh, what brings this on?" She said that she had just been thinking about me since we got back from dinner and had come to the conclusion that I am awesome.

Well. Who am I to argue with that, right?

I like being appreciated.

Of course, JB might just be feeling guilty that this weekend is supposed to be our annual road trip, and she had to bail on me.

I think I prefer to think that she was actually thinking about me and concluded that I am awesome, though.

Not that I have an ego problem. Really.

Heh.

-Diana, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!