Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-08-27 - 5:46 p.m.

I Thought Engineers Were Supposed To Be Smart

But apparently they're just a bunch of idiot-savants.

There is this one guy at work who is just pissing me off beyong belief with his moronity. He's always been one of those "hold my hand, I don't know how to use the web site" types, but today--sheesh! For the past three weeks, I've been sending out email reminders about this ballot that is due tomorrow. The ballot has been at the bottom of my reminders. There are ballot instructions on the ballot. But this guy still can't figure it out. He replies to my message that has the ballot on it to tell me that he never got a ballot. Hello! Can you read? I politely reply, and explain that the ballot was at the bottom of the email, and all he has to do is put an X next to his choice, then send the ballot back to me. Well. Apparently that's too complicated for him, so instead he emails our chairperson to tell her he never got a ballot. Chairperson emails me back and asks me to deal with it. I reply to moron and to chairperson, and refer to my earlier e-mail with the instructions in it.

Seriously. Hit reply, type an X next to your choice, and hit send. How hard is that, really?

If Moron-Boy doesn't get his ballot in on time, I think I should get to beat him up or something. He irritates me.

~~~

I spent about an hour after work trying to wire up the phone jack in my new room. No go. I don't know what I'm doing. I accept that. But then I noticed that there is a phone jack right outside my door. Duh. All I have to do is put a splitter on that jack, and tuck the cord under my door. Easy-peasy. And probably fewer annoying wires all over the place. (The jack I was trying to wire was basically a bundle of 3-pair wires, and an unattached jack plate. The 3-pair wire came from my closet ceiling and poked through a hole in the wall. I'd have to find a place to attach the jack to the wall. But the way I'm going to do it, I just have to staple the phone cord down and run the cord over to my desk.

Note to self: buy a phone splitter.

Heh. Moron-Boy is a telecom engineer. I should ask him how he'd do it.

Wait. No I shouldn't. I'd like to have a working phone sometime this year.

(Of course, all of this hinges on Selena agreeing to share a phone line with me. We talked about this briefly a couple of weeks ago, but haven't really had a chance since then.)

I have a headache. Where's my aspirin?

-Diana, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!