Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-12-22 - 12:05 a.m.

Fa La La La Blah

Okay. So Mom and Sis are coming up to the Bay Area for Christmas. Fine. Good. Yay. It means that I don't have to travel for the holidays for the first time since 1996. Of course, Mom and Sis are going to be staying in a hotel, as I don't have room for them here. My grandparents and the Coes have plenty of room for Mom and Sis...but they don't want to stay with them. Sis is bringing her cat, plus she's "gone vegan" now and claims she wants to be able to do her own cooking without using "meat-contaminated" dishes. (They're staying at one of those Res Inn places with a kitchen.) But now all of the assorted Seaborne relatives are miffed that Mom and Sis aren't staying with them. Do they say anything to Mom and Sis? Oh no, of couse not. They bitch to me. And then Mom and Sis in turn bitch to me about all of the assorted Seaborne relatives. I'm getting pretty tired of playing "Messenger Girl" between the Seabornes and the Austons. If one of them has something to say to the other, they can freaking say it to them, not ask me to pass along the message.

Ahem. So that's my Christmas resolution.

Mom and Sis arrive sometime today. [Yes, my mom drove from Utah to San Diego yesterday to pick Sis up. San Diego is nowhere near being on the way between my mom's house and my house. It adds like an extra 12 hours of driving (round trip) for my mom. Not that I'm bitter (ha!) about this or anything because I know that my mom wouldn't drive 12 hours out of her way for me because I was too lazy to buy my own gas--I would never ask her to do it in the first place.] I called my sister 4 times yesterday over an 8-hour period, trying to get an idea of when they were going to get here. She finally called me back, and as soon as I said, "Oh, trying to avoid me, huh?" her cell phone battery died and she hung up on me. D'oh! Anyway, when we finally did talk, the conversation was exceedingly annoying, mostly because Sis was talking to Mom and not to me, and she couldn't give me an answer to the one question I wanted to know. Ugh. I was feeling sort of bad about having to work tomorrow and Tuesday (and by having to work, I mean "selflishly hoarding my vacation days"), but now, not so much.

Tuesday at work is going to be a joke. Christmas Eve. Parker, Aph, and I will be the only ones there. Aph said she would take us to a movie at lunch. Cool. I get to go to a movie during work time, and I don't have to use any vacation days to do it? Score!

In other news....Liana was my Secret Santa. Very cool.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!