Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-01-10 - 04:01:47

Slide Rule fall down and go *boom*

My Mac, affectionatly known as "Slide Rule," has died.

It was over-gimped with extra RAM and an OS it hadn't been desiged for. It only ran at 256 colors at 800x600 resolution. But dammit, that computer had the ethernet card in it that allowed me super-fast DSL access! Now I've returned to my newer PC laptop, and am having to ::shudder:: dial up ::shudder:: through AOL.

I shouldn't complain. This little rejected laptop was fairly good to me last year. If I seem too bitter, the computer gods might decide to take this one away from me, too, and then I'd be just plain screwed. So I salute you, Laptop, for stepping up when you were called to duty. (Hmm. "Slide Rule" had personality. I never bothered to give this poor little PC a name. What's something that's little and determined and doesn't end tasks properly? I'll have to think on that one for a while.)

Sis is sending over some stuff for me to use in trying to raise "Slide Rule" from the dead. I hope it works. I like having DSL.

-Di

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!