Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-02-10 - 5:39 p.m.

Return to the Land of the Living

Well, after two weeks of being sick, I'm about 98% better, which is a vast improvement. This cold had me so zapped that I actually missed full days of work, which has never happened before. (Before this, I'd gone home ill two or three times, but I had never called in sick in the morning.)

I feel like I haven't seen anyone in forever. I guess being out of town for two weeks, followed by being miserable with bronchitis for two weeks will do that to you. Next weekend is President's Day, so hopefully I'll be able to go do something fun with my three-day weekend. (And by something fun, I don't mean waiting around to get all of the windows in my car replaced, like I did last year.)

I did my taxes this weekend. This deserves special mention for two reasons. One: this is the first time I've done my taxes all by myself. For the last three years, my grandmother has done them, and before that, my dad did them. After my dad did my 1998 taxes, he handed me a bunch of blank forms and made me do them myself, too. My numbers ended up matching his, but I think he wanted to be sure that I was competent enough to deal with a 1040. Two: 2002 was the first year where no one else can claim me as a dependant on their taxes. My student days are more than a year behind me, and it's another one of those "Oh crap, I'm a grown-up" reminders.

I also paid my car registration this weekend. I didn't need to get my car smogged this year, which means that the whole renewal process took about 90 seconds on the DMV web site. Nice.

What kind of a nerd am I that I feel all super-cool for doing boring things like filing my taxes and renewing my car registration?

Co-worker: "Hey Diana, what did you do this weekend?"
Me: "I did my taxes. And then I paid my car registration."
Co-worker: "Wow. You're such a party animal."
Me: "I know. I was going to pay my phone bill, too, but I figured that I need to save some excitement for the work week."

-Diana, off to go do something exciting (like pay her phone bill)

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!