Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-03-11 - 15:40:18

Used to know

I've just finished my final paper for the Fielding seminar, and now I've got benevolence crammed into my brain. Get it out! Get it OUT! Gah. I'm leaving that paper be for now; I'll pick it up later tonight and look it over one last time before I turn it in tomorrow.

Now I've only got two more papers to write. Yay.

I spent all day yesterday working on the paper, and didn't go to bed until after 4 o'clock this morning. So I felt justified in sleeping until noon. All I had left to do today (well, the part of today that was after I woke up) was type in an already-written paragraph and write the conclusion. I hate writing conclusions. Mine always sound sucky. Alas.

Funny thing. On Friday night, Mr. Anonymous on the PPMB laid out a challenge to all of us would-be writers: write a ficlet that was under 200 words, but still had a full plot. That's still one of the more active threads on the messageboard at the moment. Of course, I decided to take the challenge (I was working on my benevolence paper on Friday, too, so the challenge was a nice distraction). Mine came in at 181 words, and basically the point was that sometimes there are people whom you used to know that it's just not worth putting out an effort for anymore. The last line was "Bottom line--she's just a girl I used to know." Sound familiar?

And then, lo and behold, guess who I get an e-mail from? Yup. Ex. It's really pretty damn funny. He wants to know what's going on in my life. I told him I was busy writing papers. I just realized that for months, maybe even a full year now, our conversations have basically consisted of him asking me what's going on, and me telling him that I'm working on a paper (or studying for a midterm, or whatever). We don't talk about anything even remotely personal. What's the point? He doesn't really care. I always ask him what's going on with him, and he always says "Nothing." We might as well talk about the weather. It'd probably be more interesting.

I'm thinking about writing a few more little ficlets, all along the same thing. Release 'em together. Could be interesting. I'd get to play some more with writing from a first-person perspective.

-Di, brain-fried

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!