Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-03-30 - 12:41 a.m.

Entry #43: In which Little Di has a guilt trip laid on her

So Sis called this evening, because she remembered that Wednesday was my birthday.

I take back what I said yesterday. I wish she hadn't remembered.

It was fine for about the first two minutes, and then she started telling me how to run my life. That I shouldn't move back in with Mom for those couple of months after I graduate, because that's not fair to Mom. I should use my savings (What savings? I could barely by food last quarter!) to get an apartment right away. And I shouldn't move back to the Bay Area, because I can't afford it. I should move to some little hick middle-of-nowheresville place like Fresno. (Sorry for the Fresnoites out there, it's not personal, but why the hell would she tell me to move to Fresno? I'm not even sure if I've ever even been to Fresno, so why would I want to move there?)

She says all this, as if I haven't already been worrying myself sick over this stuff for the last couple of months. To have Sis, of all people, lecture me...oh, hell. I don't know. But she's the last person who should be lecturing me on how to get my life together. She's almost 25, has maxed-out credit cards, and instead of paying off those cards, she goes on Ebay and buys Sailor Moon cards and videos and DVDs and whatever. She actually arranged her work schedule so that she could be home in time to watch Sailor Moon at 4 pm on the Cartoon Network.

Sis also took 5 months to get a job after she graduated...and she owes Mom a couple of thousand dollars, which Mom admits that she'll probably never see again. And Sis is telling me that I'm not being fair to Mom?

I don't like being guilt-tripped, I certainly don't like being guilt-tripped when I'm already feeling guilty enough, and I especially don't like being guilt-tripped by a person who should, by all rights, be feeling guilty herself. Gah.

My vaction hasn't been quite as relaxing as I'd hoped it would be.

Signing off,

-little Di

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!