Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-04-05 - 12:16 a.m.

Oh crap, I'm a grown-up

Remember the job interview I mentioned a couple of weeks ago? Well, they made me an offer. Which gave me about 90 seconds of pure, unadulterated joy, quickly replaced by complete and total fear. This is the real thing. No more school. No more help from Mom. This is Adulthood.

Rationally, this is a good thing. It should be a relief. There are a couple of things I need to hammer out with the boss-lady (like, health insurance benefits, and the letter has my start date listed as June 18th, which doesn't really give me enough time to move from Los Angeles to the Bay Area--I'd need another couple of days), but good God, a real, salaried position. How damn scary is that? My head is spinning.

I wanted to call or e-mail JB to share the news, but then I got a e-mail from her telling me that she lost her job today. Well, her last day was planned for May 11th, but it sucks that they let her go a month early. If she'd left on May 11th, she would have been leaving on her own terms. Now it looks like she was forced out, which sucks. And I don't think she'd much appreciate my gloating, so I guess I'll wait on that for a few days.

It's weird. Right before I got the letter, I was talking to Silver, and she's decided to do five years of undergrad. (Heh. When we first met, she wanted to get it done in three.) She says that she wants to put off adulthood for a while longer. I can definitely appreciate that sentiment...but it's not really an option for me. I've had to be a hell of a lot more of a grown-up than I've wanted to be ever since my dad died. It sucks. I've only got two months and 11 days to be a stupid, irresponsible college student.

I am terrified and excited all at once. This is so weird.

And I'm too keyed up to sleep, again. I really ought to go invest in some Tylenol PM or something.

Wheeeeee.

-Diana, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!