Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-04-06 - 9:54 p.m.

Pressure

Now here you are with your faith
And your Peter Pan advice
You have no scars on your face
And you cannot handle pressure.
-Billy Joel, "Pressure"

Too many demands. Too much going on. So I'm a grown-up now. Fine. I think I may have found some of the cheaper places to live in the Bay Area, so I'm not quite so worried about my living situation as I was before.

Nevertheless...the whole move thing is already giving me a headache. It wouldn't be such a huge production, except my uncle has decided that he wants to help...and it would quite frankly be easier without him. I know he means well, but at the same time, the e-mail flood I've been getting this last week...ugh. It's just not something I need to deal with at the moment. He wants to make everything way more complicated than it needs to be. Eh.

I'd be perfectly happy if I just left Los Angeles right after my last final. Hell, it would give me more time to move and get settled before I start work. (June 21st now, the Thursday after graduation.) But my family all wants to come, which is nice, I guess, but makes my life kind of a pain. Sis actually wants to fly into L.A. from San Diego, and have me pick her up at the airport. Uh, does it not occur to her that I'm going to be a little bit busy? Besides, who the hell flies from San Diego to Los Angeles? It's only 120 miles! But that's Sis for you. Eh.

Moriarity has joined the legions of people politely bugging me for a follow-up to this story I wrote a while back. Only she embedded her bugging into the end notes of one of her own stories, instead of just sending me an e-mail or making a comment on a message board. Honest truth? I don't even know if I'm going to write a follow-up. That was the first story I submitted to that particular group; I guess I'm kind of afraid of the Sophomore Slump. Eh.

Silver and I had kind of a long talk today. I guess her mother was trying to convince her to sublet her part of the apartment this quarter and commute from home, because Silver is as unhappy with the whole Paris situation as I am. Thankfully, Silver said she'd stick out these last 10 weeks with me, but the situation does really suck. Paris is so freaking inconsiderate. Apparently, they ran out of dishwasher detergent right after I left for spring break...and when I got back, she hadn't done a single dish in the meantime. I could go on for ages.

Tonight's irritation: Paris called me from work at 8 PM, asking if it was okay if CE parked in Silver's spot this weekend. Okay. First of all, CE doesn't pay for our parking spots. Neither does Paris. Silver and I paid for them. Secondly, I spend Sunday evening through Friday evening with my car blocked in by Silver's. I run most of my driving-related errands on weekends, and if CE blocks me in, it makes it a lot more difficult for me to do them. Anyway, Paris could tell that I didn't seem thrilled with the idea, and so she said, "Well, if you're not going to be there at midnight when we get home, CE can stop by now and pick up your garage remote." Well. I vetoed that idea; if I give CE my remote, I'm stranded even sooner. Besides that, it's my freaking garage remote--I shouldn't have to ask him for it when I need to use my car. So, what I'm going to do when they get here is move my car into our neighbor's spot for a couple of minutes, let CE into my space, and then I'll park in Silver's space, blocking him in. If he needs to get out, he'd have to get me for the remote anyway. I know this doesn't seem like that huge of a deal, but with all of the other crap Paris pulls, it makes it seem like a bigger deal than it probably is. (Remember how she borrowed my blender way back in January? I still haven't gotten it back.)

I'm feeling grouchy tonight. Boo hiss.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!