Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-04-28 - 11:14 p.m.

Nothing.

(Which is the sum of all I've accomplished today. Big Old Zero. But since I didn't really have anything that I needed to do today, that's fine.)

Nira (the new roommate) has a cat. We all sort of figured that the cat would pretty much dominate the dog. We were wrong, which I find extremely funny. (So far, the cat has not really endeared herself to me, but I think that's more the fault of the owner than it is the fault of the cat.)

See, Dog knows that he is not allowed on my bed. And Dog is cool with that. He comes into my room, plops down on the floor, and hangs out while I read or mess around on the computer, or whatever. Well, last night, I had my door open, and Kitty wandered in. I usually keep my door closed, so this was new territory for her. Kitty was sniffing around, trying to get a lay of the land, and she put her paws up on my bed, like she was about to jump up. I was about to shoo Kitty away when Dog bounced up and chased her out. Heh. It was a lot more hilarious if you could have actually seen it. It's like Dog wasn't going to let Kitty get away with something he knew he wasn't allowed to do.

Later on last night, I read "L.T.'s Theory of Pets" in Everything's Eventual. Very appropriate reading, considering. I don't know if I'm a dog person or a cat person anymore. I think the real answer is that I'm not one for pets in general. They're fine so long as they don't mess with me and I don't have to take care of them.

For nostalgia's sake, today I checked on some the blogs I used to regularly read. I decided that I haven't really missed anything. Some things never change. Which is fine, but it's also pretty tiresome. (Do I change? 16 months of Diarylanding, and I still continue to whine, only now it's about work instead of school. The more things change, the more they stay the same. Or something.)

My desk is a mess. (Cluttered desk, cluttered mind?) What does my desk say about me if its surface is covered by:

- Computer monitor (15" flat panel Studio Display)
- Computer keyboard and mouse, both with grey mats
- The docking thing for my Palm Pilot
- The Palm Pilot (not in the docking thing)
- The remote control for my stereo
- A can of air freshener that I've had since 1998
- A copy of my tax return for this year, in a green folder
- Four pennies
- One quarter
- Three bottles of nail polish (basecoat, a red-gold color, and clear)
- A black and silver ring my mom gave me for Christmas back when I was still in high school
- A mini-book of dream symbols that Kim's kids gave me for my birthday
- A plastic mug
- An empty wine bottle (No, I was not drinking at my desk. I've been meaning to use the bottle in an art project, and haven't got around to it yet)
- My TV remote control
- Fingernail clippers
- Mint-scented aromatherapy lotion (Christmas present from Martine)
- Jar of pens and pencils, which also contains a pair of scissors
- Swiss Army knife
- Calligraphy pen (purchased in Rome)
- The key wallet that Silver gave me for graduation, which contains keys to most of my relative's homes (and Mom's car)
- A water glass
- A screw (no idea where that came from)
- Two cotton balls
- A hair elastic
- Various books, neatly lined up (a dictionary, The Daria Diaries, Woman Hollering Creek, The Talented Mr. Ripley, Ripley Under Ground, Ripley's Game, The Boy Who Followed Ripley, Ripley Under Water, Dreamcatcher, Black House, Underworld, Greenwitch, Bridget Jones's Diary, Rose Madder, Let's Study Japanese, Lolita, The Writing Business, Writing the Natural Way)
- More dust than there should be

That sounds like a lot, but I've got a pretty big desk.

I watched Trading Spaces again today. Damn TLC and their entertaining, yet informative programming. I wonder what those people would do with my bedroom. Paint it an ungodly shade or red or orange, most likely. I may have mentioned it before, but it really amuses me that Television Without Pity recaps Trading Spaces. I like reading the recaps, and seeing that the recapper was thinking the same snarky things that I was while I was watching. Heh.

Enough babbling out of me for tonight, I guess.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!