Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-05-04 - 6:59 p.m.

Yay! It's the weekend!

This week seemed way too long, considering that I had Monday off as my comp day. Wednesday was the worst of it, but I felt better on Thursday when Martine told me that she had been wanting poke her own eyes out, too. I'm actually entering a slow period at work, which is nice, especially after the way the last couple of months have been. Martine's on vacation next week, so I'll be taking over some of her stuff, but it shouldn't be too bad.

I annoyed myself greatly on Thursday by ripping my skirt at work. It's a long cargo skirt, and I ripped a hole in the back of it down by the hem. I think my heel got caught in it or something when I knelt down to pick up a box. Unfortunately, the hole isn't in a place where I can fix it without it being totally obvious. I liked that skirt, too. Aunt Co gave it to me for Christmas a couple of years ago. Oh well.

One of my coworkers told me last week that she really liked the "Stevie Nicks thing" I've had going on lately. I don't quite know what she means by that. I think she meant it as a compliment, but that's not how I'd interpret it it, you know? (Maybe it's because my only real impression of Stevie Nicks comes from the Saturday Night Live sketch where Lucy Lawless plays Stevie as the owner of some cheesy fajita restaurant--not to sound like a snot, but Stevie Nicks was sort of before my time.)

I may have already mentioned this, but I officially re-christen Moron Boy as Captain Passive-Agressive. Which is not to say that he's not still a moron.

I strained my wrist "bowling" (don't ask), and so I've been wearing my wrist brace for the last couple of days. I feel like I should be hiding a weapon in this thing; it's the sort of brace where it looks like if I flicked my wrist at the right angle, I could get knives to come popping out. Or maybe I've seen too many action movies. Heh.

The reality of being laid off in this economic climate is starting to dawn on Nira. I feel kind of bad. Before I found out she'd been laid off (like, an hour before), I'd been bitching to River that although I make (made) the least money of any of the people who live in our house, I pay the most rent, which seems grossly unfair. (Yes, I'm still sort of looking for the dream one-bedroom apartment here in town that I can actually afford.) River and her girlfriend are looking for a new place, since their lease is up soon. But River and her girlfriend are also sort of on the rocks at the moment, so we'll see what happens. Apartment hunting sucks, even without added complications.

Selena is home on a visitor's pass today. She'll be home for good at the beginning of next month. I don't think this rehab place has been particularly good for her, because she just looks terrible. Trying to converse with her is also kind of odd. "So, what have you been up to?" "Absolutely nothing, as per the orders of the Santa Clara County court system." Okay, it's not quite that bad, but mostly because I figure that the only safe topic to bring up for small talk is her job (which she has been able to go to while she's in this program, so that's all right). I'm just hoping that the oddness subsides once she's home for good.

JB and Willow have moved out of their apartment--JB's back at her mom's, and Willow's actually only a few blocks from me. We have tentative plans to go take a walk around the lake sometime this weekend. That will be good; I haven't seen Willow since her birthday back in January. (Haven't been to JB and Willow's apartment since that dreadful Halloween party, but that's a separate issue entirely.)

I intended to get a bunch of stuff done today, and that hasn't happened. Well, I was going to do laundry, but that can wait until tomorrow. Other than that, I'm fairly responsibility-free at the moment...which is nice, and kind of odd. I feel like there's something that I'm supposed to do that I'm forgetting about, but I know I'm not. Strange to be on top of things for once. I really can veg out if I want to. But I'm kind of itching to get out of the house, so I don't know.

I need to go find something to do.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!