Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-05-17 - 1:08 p.m.

Rumor milled

High school was weird. I think I've mentioned that before.

Last week, I ran into this girl Annie. Annie and I went to high school together, had almost all of our classes together, and were friends. (She was in the group of friends I hung out with at school, as opposed to JB, Ex and the ones I hung out with outside of school.) Annie goes to UCLA, too. Anyway, I hadn't seen her in over a year, so we did a little bit of catching up. Her roommate, Wakko, who also went to high school with us, is going to Harvard Law next year. Ew. I mean, I decided a while ago that I didn't want to go to law school...but knowing that Wakko got into Harvard, there's this insanely jealous part of me that's going, "Well, yeah, well, maybe if I'd wanted to, I could have gone to Harvard, too!" Which is probably bullshit, because Wakko is one of those insane studiers with no life, and I enjoy sleep too much to get a 4.0, but still. Sigh. The competitiveness in me coming out, I guess. :)

Then Annie asks me, "What's up with you and that guy at Hastings?"

Me: "What?"

Annie: "You tell me! I heard you were dating this guy at Hastings."

Me: "Who told you that?!"

Annie: "I can't reveal my sources. Come on, give!"

Me: "I have no idea what you're talking about. I mean, what is Hastings?"

Annie: "You know, the law school up in San Francisco!"

At this point, I vaguely remember a conversation I had way back over Thanksgiving with another former high school classmate who was applying to law schools, and had mentioned Hastings. I remember that I mentioned that this is the school that my friend Orange wants to go to, because Song is up in SF. So somehow "My friend Orange wants to go to Hastings" got turned into "My boyfriend Orange goes to Hastings."

I seem to have a much more interesting life in other people's imaginations. :)

At any rate, I had to straighten Annie out on that score, feeling somewhat like a loser as I did so. Sheeeeeesh. Considering my history with Orange, the scenario didn't seem quite as funny to me as it probably should have.

I don't think my school is doing a 5-year reunion. Heh. Most of the people in my class who actually went to college won't be done with college by then, anyway. It'll be weird living back up there full-time. I'll be all like, "But I went away for four years! I've got a real college degree! I'm not a townie, really!" I'm just moving back up there because I don't know where else I'd go. I've got a job up there.

It's just odd. You know?

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!