Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-05-22 - 6:53 p.m.

What the World Needs Now is Another Folk Singer (Like I Need a Hole in the Head)

So. Last Tuesday was the series finale of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Yep.

Not a whole lot to say there, especially since I don't think that the last two seasons were very good.

But Buffy will always have a place in my heart.

When the original Buffy movie came out, my dad suggested that we go see it. What kind of dad voluntarily offers to go to a movie called "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" with his 13-year-old daughter? I mean, it was completely his idea--he just thought that it looked like the kind of movie that I would enjoy. And he was right.

(My dad and I always had a hit-and-miss thing when we would go and see movies together. Seeing Pulp Fiction with your dad? That's a path that leads to madness and much embarrasment.)

When the TV show started my senior year of high school, it was my dad who pointed it out to me. He watched a couple of times with me, but obviously, it wasn't really his thing. Me, on the other hand--I got hooked.

My freshman year of college, I didn't have a TV for the first quarter. My dad taped every episode of Buffy for me so that I would know what was going on.

And yes, I realize the irony that thinking about Buffy gives me so many nice memories about my dad, since the show itself kind of had a "fathers are evil" undercurrent to it.

I miss my dad.

And I will miss Buffy.

That is all.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!