Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-05-23 - 6:57 p.m.

Out of Sorts. Except, not really.

Bleh kind of day. Who wants to be in a fluorescent-lit office on a beautiful Friday afternoon right before a three-day weekend? Not me. At 3:00, I called Ebie and asked if it would be okay if I left early. She gave me her blessing, and off I went.

Val was in the conference room, and as I left, she glanced at me, and then gave a very pointed look at the clock. I didn't even tell her to go fuck herself, aren't you all proud of me? Dammit, I had permission to leave early. I cannot count the number of times that I've been the first person in and the last person out, and I cannot count the number of times that I have saved Val's ass by helping her out with something that she'd left until the last minute, so she should be one of the very last people at work who could accuse me of skiving off without doing my job.

Besides, dammit, I had permission to leave early!

On a lighter note, I went to Target with Liana this afternoon. Much fun. We both laughed that they have an aisle devoted to "New Age Beverages" (there's a sign and everything). The highlight for me, however, was when we were perusing the Chick Lit section. We've done this before, where we both pick an appropriately brain-mushing Bridget Jones knockoff, read them (usually in one night), and then switch.

The book I chose this time was Smart vs. Pretty. Liana grabbed it from me, and said, "Ooh, Smart and Pretty? This one must be about us!" (Liana can get away with saying things like this.)

"It's 'versus,'" I said.

"Verses?" she repeated flipping through the book, confused.

"'Versus.' Not 'and.'"

Liana is adorable. "Oh! I thought you said 'verses.' I was wondering why it didn't look like poetry."

I started laughing. "Well, then, I guess we know which one you are!"

She looked at me for a minute (processing), and then she started laughing, too. Two mad women cracking up in the Chick Lit section of the local Target. (Alas, the "Chick Lit" section doesn't get its own sign like "New Age Beverages" does.)

And then, later on, when I was having trouble talking and thinking at the same time, Liana said, "Ah ha! Now who's the smart one!"

You know, maybe my day really wasn't so bad after all. JB woke me up this morning with a cheerful "Yay it's Friday!!!" text message on my cell phone, which actually wasn't such a bad way to start the day. (I probably would not have been so cheerful about the text message if I hadn't had to get up in 15 minutes anyway.)

And now, here commences the three-day weekend.

Yay.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!