Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-06-03 - 8:40 p.m.

It's Gonna Be A Bright Sunshine-y Day

I went to the mall after work today. It's very strange to be in the mall during non-peak hours; it's so much easier to find parking, and you can get around without having to dodge a million overloaded strollers.

I had two and a half objectives on this shopping mission. 1) A birthday present for River, since her birthday is tomorrow. 2) A birthday present for JB, since her birthday is next week. 2.5) Something graduation-related for JB, since she graduated over Memorial Day.

The shopping for River was easy. I got her a rainbow-y pinwheel, sturdy enough to put in a planter box outside, and a dog puppet. The puppet is partly because I know that she misses her dogs (back at her mom's house in Michigan), and partly because I figure that the puppet will be a great thing for River to tease her cats with. Heh.

JB was a lot harder, which isn't usually the case. A lot of the time, I'll be out shopping, I'll see something, and I'll think, "Oh, that would be great for JB." Not this time. Of course, most of the gifts I've given JB have had some sort of secret meaning or inside joke (e.g. the ruby sneakers), or they've been something I knew that she really wanted (e.g. the music box). Well. This year was a bit more difficult, since I get these great gift ideas when I'm actually hanging out with her. Since I've only seen her five times in the last 8 months, and none of those were really one-on-one situations, I'm kind of at a loss. I don't know what's going on with her, and I don't know what she's into anymore, so I ended up going with this very generic potpourri burner thing.

Bah. I hate giving impersonal gifts.

I think I have spring fever, because I did not want to do any work today. It's supposed to be in the upper 70's to mid 80's all week, and it just seems wrong to be stuck inside. But maybe that's just me. I could be like poor Martine, stuck at a tradeshow in Atlanta where it's 100 degrees and sticky. Ew.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!