Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-06-19 - 5:14 p.m.

Dads and Grads

So I've graduated.

It was very anticlimatic.

Moving was hell, but I guess moving always is. My mom seems to think it all went smoothly, but since it wasn't her move, she doesn't have the same perspective. I think she was just happy that I actually had everything completely packed by the time the people who were helping me move got there.

Then again, there was the part where we had to wait for a locksmith because my mother padlocked her keys into the back of the U-Haul when we got to San Diego. That was annoying.

Paris...was Paris. She left for the week, without telling me. She left a note telling me that the subletter would be moving in on Sunday night. I hope he already had Silver's keys, cuz I didn't wait around for him. I also hope Paris told him to feed her turtles, cuz otherwise she'll be coming home to cold turtle soup.

My family continued to bug me. Partially because I was already stressed out, plus PMS, and partially because that's just what my family does.

There was the "Why didn't you get any honors?" thing. (My GPA was 0.01 too low.) There was the "When are you going to meet a nice boy?" thing. And then, on Sunday, my uncle informed me that I have gotten fat.

Fan-fucking-tastic.

I love my uncle, but on Sunday, I was ready to kill him. There was the whole fat-remark thing, but then, after we loaded up the U-Haul, we all went out to dinner. Sunday was Father's Day, for those of you who care about such things. Anyway, my uncle made some sort of comment about how no one had said "Happy Father's Day" to him. Well...he doesn't have any kids, so he's not a father. He's not my father. My father died almost two years ago, which is another reason why I was grouchy on Sunday. I don't have a father to say "Happy Father's Day" to anymore. Plus, the last time that all of my family was together was at my sister's college graduation (a month before Dad died), so for me, my graduation had all of these weird residual negative connotations. Wondering if he would be proud of me, or if he would bitch at me like everyone else was doing.

I pretty much haven't been alone since Friday. I wish JB wasn't so busy, because I need some time to be around friends, instead of family. I can't vent about my family to my mother.

And the day after tomorrow, I start work. Today is the first real day of my last summer vacation ever...and tomorrow is the last day of my last summer vacation ever.

How odd. I sitll haven't processed it.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!