Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-06-20 - 5:22 p.m.

The Effects of Sleep Deprivation on Caffeine Rituals.

Coffee. It's a beverage. It's a drug. It's a ritual. It's a social crutch. And it's damn funny to watch people who desperately need it try to acquire it.

See, Parker is one of those guys who cannot function in the morning without his dose of java. I guess he was particularly out of it this morning, because the first thing he did when he got in was head for the coffee pot. No one had made any coffee yet. So Parker went about the ritual.

When Parker poured the water into the machine, less than half made it in. The rest went all over the counter and all over him. I guess it was too early for that whole hand-eye coordination thing to really be working yet.

Then, he tried to get out a coffee filter. Somehow during that step, he managed to send the filter sailing across the kitchen.

And finally, dear lord help us all, Parker had to grind the beans. But first, he had to spill them all over the place. That led to a discussion on what a stupid expression "spill the beans" is.

All of that drama, simply because the man wasn't awake enough yet to pay attention to what he was doing. Vicious cycle--needed the coffee to wake him up, but wasn't awake enough to make the coffee. When I pointed out that Starbucks is right across the street, he kind of just flopped his head down onto the counter. Heh.

In other news, thank goodness it's Thursday. I am going to enjoy my 3-day weekend, dammit! Hope everyone else has a good one, too.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!