Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-06-22 - 1:25 p.m.

Let Your Smile Be Your Shield

I had a lovely day off yesterday. It's funny how realizing that you're in a good mood puts you in an even better mood. I went shopping, just tra-la-laing along with a smile, and everyone was so nice and friendly to me; it's kind of amazing.

I ended up going to that sale that JC Penney was having. I got a new comforter, new sheets, new pillowcase, new sham, and a new blanket, all for $91.99. Including tax. How cool is that?

Fashion alert: Today, for the first time ever, I am wearing a halter top. I'm not sure what possessed me to buy it in the first place, but now here I am, wearing it. The cut of it does nice things for my shoulders, but my back feels very exposed. This is definitely a new sensation for me.

Our next door neighbors are putting in a new hardwood floor. They started hammering at 7:30 this morning. Ugh. I really hope that it's only a one-day project.

I've been called for jury duty. Eh. This is the third time in the last 18 months I've been called. I suppose I can't complain too much. When I was called six months ago (for Christmas eve!!), I didn't have go because I was called in Los Angeles county, and I hadn't lived in Los Angeles county for almost six months by then. Can't get out of it this time. I've been called for two weeks before I leave for Denver, which is right when I'll start getting super-busy at work. Great timing. Eh. (When I had to serve jury duty in December 2000, it was the week before Christmas. Not great timing then, because I needed to do my Christmas shopping, but back then I was an unemployed student on school holiday. Two days of my life I will never get back.) Oh well. Suck it up, right?

Remaining goals for the weekend:

1. Get a tan. (The fake kind from a bottle. I don't tan, I burn. I've had people tell me that they're surprised that I don't have freckles, considering my complexion. I point out that I'm usually under about three layers of clothes and some SPF 45. But there's no reason why I should blind the rest of the population with my "if she was any whiter she'd be translucent" skin when they've got perfectly serviceable fake tanners out there.)

2. Read something. I bought The Catcher In The Rye, which I read in high school, The Hundred Secret Senses which I haven't read, but it looks like it's about sister- angst, so I can totally get down with that, and Patriot Games, which I bought because it was $3.99 at the supermarket checkout aisle, and with the new Jack Ryan flick coming out, I figured I might as well give one of the books a whirl. Plus, my dad was a big Tom Clancy fan.

3. Vaccuum my bedroom. Seriously.

For the last little while, I've found myself getting totally distraced by things in motion. Yesterday was very windy, to the point where I could actually see the clouds moving across the sky. Mesmerizing. And then I did laundry last night, and there was something about the way the clothes churn in the washer and all of the soap bubbles come to the top....I can't describe it. Motion is weird.

Have a lovely Saturday, folks.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!