Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-06-24 - 9:25 p.m.

"We Love You. Now Take Your Pennies and Go Away."

I had my annual review today at work. I received the highest marks possible in every category except teamwork. Ebie said that it's not because I'm not willing to help others out, it's because I'm reluctant to ask other people to help me. Fair enough. They gave me the highest percentage raise that they could give without promoting me, and since they're not promoting anyone right now, I guess I should be pleased.

Except, you know, that I'm not.

I did some math. If I continue to get raises at this same rate, it will be approximately 4 or 5 years before I will make enough to live by myself in a nice apartment here in town. That is very, very depressing. (And you know what they say...by the time you can make ends meet....they move the ends.)

Some options:

1. Move farther away from work. The farther away I go, the cheaper the rent.

2. Find a job that pays more.

3. Live in a less-nice neighborhood.

4. Find a rich boyfriend off whom I can sponge. (Kidding! Mostly.)

5. Suck it up with the current situation...er, I mean, wait and see, remembering that patience is a virtue.

The other thing to remember is that there is no way in hell that I will stay at my current job for 4 or 5 years if they're not willing to promote me sometime. So maybe I'm being unnecessarily pessimistic.

Sigh. I did get a raise today, after all. I should be more excited than this.

Yawn.

Good night.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!