Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-06-22 - 1:30 p.m.

Two Years

Here there be rambling:

This week marked a couple of milestones for me; two years since graduating college, and two years since starting this job.

My job is bugging me. Actually, that's not true. My job is fine. My co-workers are bugging me.

I was talking to Holden last night about headaches. He was saying that practically everyone he knows who gets headaches on a regular basis wears glasses or contact lenses. I pointed out that I've asked, and the doctors always tell me that it's stress, not my prescription. But then Holden said something that made me think: what if the prescription is off by just a little bit? I mean, I've always had heachaches, but they didn't use to be this bad or this frequent. In fact, they seem to have gotten a lot worse in the last two years. Of course, that could be the reality of Grown Up Stress Headaches vs. Student Stress Headaches. But, the last two pairs of glasses I've bought, they've "balanced" the lenses so that the prescription in the left eye is the same as in the right eye. I am legally blind in my left eye, and every other pair of glasses I've had, they just put the prescription in the right lens, and left the left lens as blank glass (polycarbonate, whatever). I'm legally blind in my left eye, but not completely blind. My eyes still track together, so maybe I do see a little bit out of my left eye. Most of my headaches seem to be centered behind my left eye. Food for thought.

I desperately need a date for Holden and Selena's wedding. (By "date," I mean "way to prevent myself from being trapped with Mac all night.") Unfortunately, I don't even have any single guy friends at the moment. (Well, single guy friends who live within a 50-mile radius, anyway.) Ugh. Wonder how Song would react if I asked to borrow her boyfriend for a weekend, and bought Orange a plane ticket?

Yes, I know that would not be a very good idea.

Also: As I have often stated, I am a gigantic dork. My copy of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix was delivered to me promptly at 8:00 am yesterday by the good folks at Amazon.com via Federal Express. The doorbell woke up the entire house. (I wasn't expecting it to arrive until the afternoon, otherwise I would have been awake already, simply to prevent the doorbell from waking the entire house.) I spent almost the entire day yesterday reading it, and finished the book a little bit after 1:00 this morning. I think I'm still in shock. I'd seen all of the articles talking about how someone was going to die, and I kept trying to figure out who it was going to be. At any rate, not to spoil it for anyone else, let me just say that it was totally not someone I had been expecting to get killed off, and I'm not sure how I feel about it. Except that I know that I'm really relieved that it wasn't someone else, which makes me feel very cold-hearted.

And yes, I know that it's just a book, but please see above re: me and being a gigantic dork.

Reality check? Ha!

- Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!