Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-06-23 - 5:36 p.m.

Yes, I am a dork, but so are a bunch of other people.

All right, I admit I was feeling a bit dorky for having the new Harry Potter book delivered on the day it was released. However, as I said yesterday, the book arrived sooner than I was expecting. Anyway, after watching four people in my office today giddily awaiting the UPS guy, the Fed Ex dude, and the USPS lady, I feel significantly cooler. The regular post didn't arrive until after 4:00 pm, and by that time, I was wondering if our IS guy was going to give himself an aneurism with all of his bouncing around asking, "Is the mail here yet?"

Of course, the fact that I finished the book in less than 24 hours kind of ups my dork quotient a bit, I suppose. Heh.

At least I still have plenty of reading for my trip to Canada in two weeks. Selena lent me two books, but since one of them is hardcover (that is, not airplane/carry-on friendly), I'm only going to take one of them--Dean Koontz's Servants of Twilight. I've never read anything by Koontz before, but both Selena and my mom seem to think that it's the kind of thing I'd like, so I guess I'll see. I went book shopping a couple of weeks ago, and picked up J.D. Salinger's Franny and Zooey, which I haven't read. I'm looking forward to it. (More proof of my dorkiness--or perhaps obsessive-compulsive disorder--I'm quite pleased that the plain white cover on Franny and Zooey matches the plain white covers that my copies of The Catcher in the Rye and Nine Stories both have.) On that same trip to the bookstore, I also bought a Carl Hiassen mystery, since I enjoyed the last one I read so much.

There is nothing worse than being stuck at an airport (or on a long flight) with nothing to read. And I'm only willing to buy so many overpriced, trashy magazines from the airport newstand. So, best to go prepared. (Although, it is fun to see what kind of reactions I can get from the newstand clerks by buying copies of Cosmo and Newsweek at the same time.)

-Di

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!