Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-06-28 - 5:56 p.m.

This Both Sucks and Blows

I got into work, to find an email informing every single last person who worked for a certain company and was involved in my forum was laid off today. I knew with their current status, that of course we would lose some people. I just didn't think we would lose everyone. So now, the good majority of our U.S. based engineers are gone, and a lot of really cool people are without jobs. One of these guys, the guy I went to the Vatican with--he's got 4 kids below junior-high-school age. And he is the sweetest man in the universe. Unemployed, because scummy bastard accountants didn't do their job right.

Then, around 11:00, we learned that one of my company's major clients (their very first client, in fact) will be terminating their contract with us at the end of the year. I think my job is safe, but for how long? One of the owners (the one who already demonstrated how sensitive (not) she is to her employees) flat-out said that anyone who is considering looking for another job should let her know now, so they can figure that in when they plan their layoffs. Um. Sorry, at this point, I think we all need to be looking out for ourselves, not the company. If we're going to be laid off anyway, why should we tell them we're possibly considering leaving and guarantee being laid off now, when we can wait until maybe we have something lined up? Basically, the company has six months to land a new client, or people will be losing their jobs.

Eeeeeeeeeeh.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!