Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-07-01 - 10:10 p.m.

New Toy!

I got a new computer!

I got a new computer today!

It needs a name. Computers have personalities, and should thus be given names.

First I had good old Slide Rule, which was never very good, and by now is pretty old. (And oh yeah, it doesn't work. Crappy piece of crappy crap.) It was so named because when I got it for my 18th birthday in 1997, it was already out of date. (My dad tried to save money by going for the older model.)

Then came Little Engine. I inherited that computer when my father died...I think he bought it in 1999. He got it to be a secondary computer, something to take with him on vacation so he could check mail. As such, he didn't splurge on it. Little Engine did what needed to be done, and that's about it. I have a great fondness for Little Engine--it saved my ass this year when Slide Rule died.

Now I have this new thing. I got it today--graduation present from my mom. This is the first computer I've ever gotten that I've picked out myself. (It's a 466 Mhz Mac G4, in case anyone cares.) I need to play with it some more so that I can discover its personality, in order to give it a name

As a side query, to anyone who might be reading this...what color does the background of my page look like? I thought that it was a sort of light purple...but when I chose my colors, I was using Little Engine, which has a really crummy LCD laptop screen, and didn't always show color accurately. But I thought my background looked similar (that is, light purple) on my mom's computer, too. On this new monitor, my background looks light blue, not purplish at all. And the monitor is set to millions of colors...so has it looked blue to everyone else all along?

Ah well, it might be time for a site re-design anyway.

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!