Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-07-18 - 6:37 p.m.

Everyone just needs to get over themselves.

On the subject of "selling out"

Is "selling out" a term coined by the people who want to use the desire not to sell out as their excuse for being too lazy to succeed? Well. Maybe. But that interpretation doesn't take into consideration people who have different priorities. What the hell is wrong with someone getting interested in doing something as a hobby?

(Or maybe my views are skewed by the fact that I seem to be condemned with having a little bit of talent at a lot of different things, but not a lot of talent at any one thing. I'm a perpetual dabbler, and I'm fine with that. If someone else has a problem with that...well, no one's telling you that that's how you have to live your life, now, is it?)

On the subject of the ongoing "pity party"

Boohoo. Everybody has a horrible life. Boohoohoohoohoo. I think we all need to accept the fact that our own problems always seem so much dire to ourselves because they are our problems. All of this "How dare you say your life is bad when I..." stuff is just ridiculous. I never ceased to be amazed at the hypocrisy of self-righteousness. Yes, listening to someone else whine can get old after a while. I completely recognize that. I understand that I probably frustrate my friends sometimes with my "venting." And they frustrate me. But whining about someone else's whining...it's one of those vicious circles!

(Says Diana the Hypocrite as the whines about people whining about other people whining. Oi.)

On the subject of being "cute"

Dude. Don't make one of the cornerstones of your argument hinge on your self-proclamation of attractiveness. Especially when it comes off sounding like, "I'm cute and you're not." It doesn't endear you to anyone. Self-confidence is one thing. It's fine to find yourself atteactive, but there's no need to put other people down in the process.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!