Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-07-20 - 4:16 p.m.

Drama and Angst (Not Mine, Though)

So, I spent most of yesterday and today doing the sympathetic listener thing with River. She's in the midst of a messy break-up, and her ex has pretty much told River to move out of their apartment right now. Granted, the two of them sharing a tiny one-bedroom is not an ideal situation to be in during a break-up, but River's ex is being kind of unreasonable. Especially considering that in my completely biased view as River's friend, the break-up is almost completely the ex's fault. Grr.

Anyway, River stayed here last night. All of my assorted roommates were gone, so we brought some food and drink back, made a little dinner, watched Wonder Boys, and talked. I think that River was able to get her mind of some of the nastier stuff at least for a little bit. She said that last night was the best night's sleep she's had in a while, even if it was on our narrow little couch.

Today was about the game plan. River's brother, who lives in Irvine, has had her car for the last year, but he told her that she could get it back at any time. So, we got River a plane ticket to O.C. for next weekend so that she can pick up her car and bring it back here. I'm waiting for JB to call me back now; I'm hoping that maybe JB's mom will let River rent out that downstairs bedroom that Mil stayed in a while ago. It would only be for a couple of months, because River's planning to move out of state at the beginning of October anyway. Or maybe she can stay with Ruby for a little bit. (Not ideal, since Ruby's in the midst of wedding madness.) We'll figure it out. River is on her way home now, so I hope everything is going to be okay for tonight.

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!