Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-07-30 - 1:49 p.m. EDT

Where The Sun Is On The Wrong Side Of The Ocean

I arrived yesterday afternoon and everything went much more smoothly than I had been expecting. I hate having to get somplace from an airport I'm not familiar with. Thank goodness for ye olde expense account--I splurged and took a taxi instead of trying to figure out public transit or the shuttle system.

It's strange to be back in Massachusetts after all this time.

My room--excuse me, my suite--is great. When I first got in, I was grinning like an idiot, feeling like a girl who's just been told that she is a princess and this is her castle. Swanky! Since I'm one of the meeting planners, I guess the hotel people are trying to kiss up to me. I don't think I've ever had anyone do that before--it's an odd sensation.

I had dinner last night with the Elusive Boss (Ebie, for short). That was the first time I'd seen her since my interview four months ago. She works remotely, so this was the first in-person interaction I've had with her since becoming an employee. It was awkward--or at least, it felt awkward to me. The lady is a huge win afficianado (did I mention that she was tipsy during my interview), and so we split a bottle over dinner. Interesting. I'm still not quite sure what to make of Ebie yet.

Today is the smaller meeting. I haven't been attending that, so I've been running around checking on things. Not much, though, because I've also had a lot of time where I'm just sitting around (like now). Everything seems to be going smoothly, but I wish Martine would hurry up and get here. She's a person from work who I'm familiar with, and I want to ask her opinion on something.

See, I was put in charge of the BOD dinner. The guidelines I was given were pretty vague: upscale but not stuffy, casual setting for a large group that doesn't want to be sequestered in a private room. Anyone else see a problem meshing "upscale" and "casual"? Long story short, the place I made reservations at sight-unseen may not quite be what we're looking for--their brochure was misleading. Ebie tells me to use my judgment, but since I've never done this before, I'd like a second opinion. That's where Martine comes in. Now I just have to occupy myself until she gets here. Should be soon.

More later!

-Diana, in Boston

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!