Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2002-08-10 - 7:05 p.m.

Like the Proverbial Headless Chicken

First off, wedding nonsense:

Item: Ruby's bridal shower is tomorrow. Her bachelorette party is the same day I fly out for my vacation, but I'm not too broken up over it. An expensive night of limos and clubbing in San Francisco isn't really my thing.

Item: What's the deal with bachelorette parties, anyway? I thought that it was supposed to be, brides-to-be get a shower, grooms-to-be get a bachelor party. Then they go in and throw in this bachelorette nonsense. Cosmic scheme to make life harder on the bridesmaids, I reckon.

Item: Holden and Selena are already bickering over their wedding plans. Ugh. The problem is, Selena's parents can't/won't pay for it, and Holden and Selena don't want to ask Holden's parents for money, so they're going to have to pay for the whole thing themselves. Which, of course, means saving up the money first, which means delaying the wedding. I think they're figuring on a two-year engagement now. If I was either of them, I'm not sure that I could deal with two years of nonsense about the bridesmaids' dresses and flowers and caterers. I've said it before, and I'll say it again: When I get married, I am going to run off to Las Vegas, and have the ceremony performed by an Elvis impersonator. I'm not even an Elvis fan, I just think that if you're gonna go Las Vegas tacky, you ought to go whole hog.

Item: I'm not a huge fan of the bridesmaid dresses Selena has picked. Since she hasn't asked me to be a bridesmaid, this is fine.

Now, for other stuff:

Item: Spent last night in Dublin with JB. She's been housesitting, and I guess the place was creeping her out at night, so I went and stayed with her. It was kind of fun, but very low-key. Dinner at Outback, TV, sleep. This morning we went to International House Of Pancakes, which was kind of funny, because I haven't been to an IHOP in something like four years. The last time was when JB and I were up in Chico visiting Mil and his roommate, and when the waitress came back with our drinks, she dumped the entire tray on me. Sticky orange juice and Coke--bleh. The lovely and charming waitress, for whom we did not leave a tip, looked at me, said, "It's not that bad," and then proceeded to wipe the mess from the table....and into my lap, as if I wasn't already sticky enough. And then she got pissed off when we asked for new drinks. You know, because the first ones she brought were currently dripping from my shirt and jeans. Ugh. But anyway, this morning's IHOP experience went off without incident.

Item: I washed my car this morning. It really needed it. Afterwards, I ran upstairs and hopped in the shower...and Holden moved my car out of the garage and parked it under a tree, where a bird promptly shat on it. Irritation, yes. I leave a key to my car in the kitchen in case they need to move my car when I'm out of town. When I'm home, I expect them to ask me--he couldn't wait ten minutes for me to get out of the shower?

Oh well.

I'm trying to think if there is anything else exciting going on. Not really--just a bunch of running around at work and being busy. The vacation countdown is at two weeks.

-Di, off in search of something cold to drink

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!