Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-08-20 - 6:36 p.m.

Driving Miss Diana

Resolution for 2002: Learn something about cars so that I know for sure if I'm getting screwed by the mechanic.

As I mentioned yesterday, my car was sick. Well, it's better now, but that was a hell of an expensive little fit the car decided to throw.

The normal 30,000 mile tune-up and service. New brake pads. New spark plug wires, cam cover gasket, and camshaft housing. (That was what was making the car shudder--I guess there was a hole in the housing that was leaking oil into the spark plugs.) And apparently my torque axis mount was collapsed and had to be replaced. I have no idea what that means, but it was expensive.

But now my car is (so far) better--no shuddering on the way home. And they washed, vaccuumed, detailed, and Armor-All-ed my car, so it looks pretty, too.

(Yeah--I've decided that it was okay to spend a thousand dollars to get my car fixed because they vaccuummed it, which I could have done for free. I am absurd. This is a huge change from a few months ago. The nice thing about being employed is that you have money and can actually afford to take care of these things when they happen, instead of stressing about it for 6 weeks.)

It is really hard for me to wrap my mind around the concept that now I can actually do this "grown-up" thing.

Bizarre!

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!