Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-08-22 - 6:04 p.m.

Fake Rain and Style Sheets

It pretended to rain this morning. I hate that. Just misty enough to need my windshield wipers, but no real drops of rain. I probably wouldn't be nearly as annoyed by fake rain if I didn't wear glasses. Stupid lenses get fogged up. Stupid insurance won't pay for contacts.

Speaking of stupid insurance...heh. They sent me a booklet yesterday to use in self-diagnosis. The book tells you how to diagnose everything from boils to broken bones to bleeding ulcers...and how to treat yourself at home.

Seem like a bad idea to anyone else?

To be fair, it usually says that if your condition doesn't improve within a week or so to go see a real doctor, but still...heh.

The weather's clear now, by the way

~~~

I have determined that I do not like cascading style sheets.

I spent a good portion of the day at work playing with the forum's web site. In early September, we're switching over to a new online database system, so I need to make sure that our web site is in order. Well, the original designers of the web site made it very graphics intensive, and some of the engineers have been complaining that it takes forever to load. Well, a bunch of these graphics are text buttons--that is, the graphic only has a word on it, and the graphic links to another page. Well, I could replace all of those graphics with normal links, and it would load so much faster, and still look pretty much the same.

So, I was digging around in the guts of the HTML code--and let me admit right here, I've never taken an HTML class or anything. All of my HTML knowledge comes from direct experience, which means a bit of trial-and-error. Nevertheless, I think I'm fairly well-versed in HTML. Or at least I was, until HTML 4.0 came along with its stupid cascading style sheets.

I could learn it. Actually, I can say right now that I will learn it. I'm just not happy about it right now. Oh well. Heh. I could probably find an HTML class to take and get work to pay for it. That would be cool. Better than trial-and-error, anyway.

Pity I don't really have anything interesting to say today, isn't it?

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!