Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-08-31 - 12:05 p.m.

My Day Off Is Not Going Well

I had a list of things to get donw today, since I don't have to work. And there are some things that you can only take care of during normal work hours.

Like, getting my passport. I went and got the pictures taken. (God-awful that they are--the guy took them at a weird angle, so it's looking up at me. I look surprised and slightly retarded in the photo. Gah.) Then I went to the post office to actually turn in the forms. Well, the passport part of the post office is closed today for Labor Day.

What the hell? Labor Day is on Monday.

Yes, the lady at the counter tells me. They'll be closed on Monday, too.

I'm going to Japan in two months. I need my passport now.

Part of this is my own damn fault for waiting too long, but...I'm at work during the day! When else am I supposed to do this?

So I called around to try to find a place that would be open today. No soap.

What is up with these government agencies?

Or maybe I'm irritated because I've been reading all of these Patricia Highsmith novels lately, and Tom Ripley never seems to have any problems getting a passport when he needs one.

Of course, the talented Mr. Ripley is getting stolen passports.

I guess real life isn't much like it is in books.

So, the major thing on my to-do list for today cannot be completed. Dammit.

I was road-raging on the way home. Seriously. I think I shouldn't drive for a while. I was screaming and cackling like a mad woman, and if there hadn't been so many other damn cars in my way, I think I would have opened up my Saturn to see how fast it would fo.

Why does being angry make you self-destructive?

And why do I get so insanely angry over these little stupid things?

Gah.

Then, I went and tried to get a new cell phone number. Having a Los Angeles number while I'm up here in the Bay Area is kind of ridiculous, because people don't want to call me on my cell because it is long distance for them.

Well, Cingular, as is typical for them, put me on hold for 20 minutes. When I finally hung up after talking to someone, my old number had been already been disconnected. My new number isn't working yet.

Gah!

My new number better start working within the next couple of hours, that's all I'm saying.

Orange: "What are you gonna do?"

Me: "Riot."

It's been that kind of day. And it's barely noon.

-Diana, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!