Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2003-09-25 - 4:17 p.m.

Go Ahead, Make My Day

Work = Groan

Apparently, we have a narc in our office who is keeping track of when people are coming and going, because a couple of my co-workers have been chastised recently for coming in late and leaving early. This is interesting for several reasons. 1) If there is a discrepency in the amount of time that one particular person is working, it can't be more than half an hour. 2) Who the hell is the narc? If I had to suspect somebody, I'd suspect myself--but I know that it's not me. I am usually the first or second person in the office, so I know when everyone arrives. Whoever the narc is obviously isn't in the position to keep track of all of the comings and goings in the office. To do that, they would have to be the first person in all of the time. (I also know for a fact that the other person who is usually the first or second person into the office isn't the narc, because she was one of the people who received a talking-to.)

Maybe the have hidden cameras.

I am almost at the point where I wish they would accuse me of skiving off on my hours. Then I would unleash all holy hell. Take today, for example. I got to work at 6:45 AM. I did not take a lunch break. I left at 3:15 PM. That's 8.5 hours. But to all of the people who didn't get into the office until 9:00, it looks like I worked a short day. It's like, everyone is expected to work until 6:00 PM, no matter what time they arrive in the morning. Whatever happened to that flex-time policy?

(For the record, the only reason I arrived at 6:45 was that I had a 7:00 conference call that I was required to be attend.)

And they wonder why morale is so fucking low. (No actually, they don't. I don't think that they actually care about morale.)

All of this is snowballing to the point where I'm so frustrated that I've started taking genuinely constructive criticism way too personally, which is a bad thing. When I start taking it personally, it makes it harder for me to accept that the suggestions are valid, and then I feel really quite apathetic about making any changes to the projects. Ugh. I suppose that the fact that I recognize that I'm being unreasonable is worth something. (At least, in my head I'm being unreasonable and saying "fuck" over and over again--in reality, I usually wait a couple of hours and then do what they ask of me.)

-Diana

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!