Diana's Diary

a vault of venting and
a mausoleum of musings
(not to mention,
an abode of alliteration)

today's travails
archive of angst
Diaryland Domicile

Leave me a note


2001-11-04 - 9:39 p.m.

Dateline: Osaka, Japan

Okay. I spent most of today (Sunday) walking around in Nara thinking, "Holy cow, I'm in Japan!" The meeting starts tomorrow, so at least then I'll have other things to concentrate on.

I've now had three traditional Japanese meals, including sashimi and some shrimp which was still actually woggling around when they brought it to the table. I'm damn proud of myself, frankly. I've eaten everything they've given me. Hurrah for trying new things.

My dad hated having to come to Japan, and he despised sashimi. I wonder, if he was looking down on me now, would he be proud of me, or would he be laughing his ass off? Perhaps it's best to not ponder it too much.

In Nara, we saw what was either the oldest, or the largest wooden building in the world. A Buddhist temple. Huh. Nara was very pretty, and we did a lot of wandering around, but I didn't take any pictures. Silly me.

And you know what? I think sake tastes an awful lot like vodka. Nyeh.

Ruby has been telling me for the last three months how much I was going to love this hotel, and how I was going to be treated like a princess (her forum stayed here last year). Well, either Ruby and I have a different definition of "princess," or the Fairmont in Boston has set my bar of expectations too high. Maybe it's the language barriar. I'm finding it very difficult to communicate with the conference manager. My own fault, I suppose. The only thing I know how to say in Japanese is "thank you."

Best news yet: Despite the 17-hour time difference, I don't feel that jet lagged. Wahoo!

-Di, signing off

previous | next


2003-12-16 - Ow! My Nose!
2003-12-15 - 'Tis the Season...For Moving
2003-11-17 - Rush, Rush
2003-11-03 - Apartment Hunting Sucks
2003-10-22 - Apparently, "nauseated" is a good look for me.


about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!